Behind the Story

Do you ever doubt that God has a plan for you? Do you wonder, if He does, what that plan might be? What happens when He reroutes us? I don’t know about you, but unknowns, detours, and abrupt changes make the plotter-planner in me nervous. And I can really relate with today’s guest–believe it or not, I never intended to be a fiction writer! And Author JC Morrows never intended… Well, you’ll see.

once-upon-a-time-719174_1920

Behind the Story
by JC Morrows

The book series I’m in the middle of is different from anything else I have written . . . ever. When I started writing, it was for the secular market. However, all of those novels have now either been rewritten for the Christian market or scrapped.
Several years ago, I decided to make a fresh start with my writing . . . not long after I made the decision to re-dedicate myself to God. However, I was still writing fantasy. Fantasy is my first love in literature, my go-to genre, my preferred reading. It just makes sense that I would write what I love to read – and I was . . . until God let me in on HIS plan.
notes-514998_1920I was struggling with the story I was working on. I knew where I wanted it to go, but I wasn’t sure how to get it there. So I said a prayer. I asked God what HE wanted me to write about. And He gave me this story.
Suffice to say, I could not type fast enough to keep up with the inspiration that was quite literally gushing out through my fingertips.
I wrote the entire series in less than two months. I didn’t stop to edit. I didn’t stop to plot. Sometimes I barely stopped to sleep. I just kept going – following God’s leading. It was an AMAZING two months!
Since then, I have worked diligently to stay true to the story God gave me. It’s not always easy. My brain always wants to go somewhere fantastical . . . somewhere alien or otherworldly . . . somewhere I feel comfortable.
I don’t feel comfortable in this story world at all – and I was very concerned with how it would be received. But God has blessed me in that area as well. I had a fantastic launch team – and now an equally wonderful street team. Both online parties I hosted were a tremendous success. The first book in the series hit #1 on Amazon’s Best-Seller list on release day and has sold like I never could have expected.shadow-824128_1280
So, whenever I start to doubt myself, I say a prayer and go ask my team what they think of the newest installment . . . or I go look at the rankings in Amazon. And I am reminded that God has a plan – and just because I don’t see it, doesn’t mean it isn’t there.
***
A Desperate Escape:
A Secret . . . A Confession . . . A Decision that will change the A Desperate Escape - JC Morrows
lives of an entire country.
The palace is scrambling to recover from a brutal assault . . . the country is in disarray . . . and the royal security team is on edge like never before.
Kayden entered the palace under a lie . . . a lie that has now been exposed.
And now . . . Prince Dvarius has to decide what to do with his reluctant assassin.
***
JCM 2b - 06-2015JC Morrows – Bestselling author of YA Christian speculative fiction, drinker of coffee and avid reader – is a storyteller in the truest sense of the word. JC has been telling stories in one form or another her entire life and once her mother convinced her to write them down, she couldn’t stop.
She finished her first speculative fiction novel purely for the enjoyment of her mother – also known as her biggest fan.
She gives God all of the glory for her talent and ability!
Find JC on her website: http://jcmorrows.com, and at Amazon, Goodreads, her NewsletterInstagram, TwitterPinterestFacebook, and Tumblr.
“And the LORD answered me, and said, Write the vision, and make it plain upon tables, that he may run that readeth it.” Habakkuk 2:2 KJV
Let’s talk about this: I shared at the beginning of my post how I never intended to write fiction, and I fought God’s call for a long time. But man, had I know the incredible joy I’d receive every time I sat behind my desk, I would’ve surrendered much sooner! God is good. God is loving, attentive and faithful, amen?
 Has God ever called you down a road you were unfamiliar with? How did you feel about that? Do you have any Scripture that God gave you to encourage you? Share in the comments below.
2 thoughts on “Behind the Story

Leave a Reply

